Bank of India was founded on 7th September, 1906 by a group of eminent businessmen from Mumbai. The Bank was under private ownership and control till July 1969 when it was nationalized.

Beginning with one office in Mumbai, with a paid-up capital of Rs.50 lakh and 50 employees, the Bank has made a rapid growth over the years and blossomed into a mighty institution with a strong national presence and sizable international operations. In business volume, the Bank occupies a premier position among the nationalised banks

The Bank has 5016 branches in India, spread over all states / union territories, including specialized branches. These branches are controlled through 54 Zonal Offices supervised by National Banking Groups. There are 60 overseas branches / offices and 5 Subsidiaries as well as 1 joint venture (Indo Zambia Ltd). Presently Bank has overseas presence in 22 foreign countries spread over 5 continents, at key banking and financial centers viz. Tokyo, Singapore, Hong Kong, London, Jersey, Paris and New York.

Our New York Branch was established in December 1978. At present, it is operating from 277 Park Avenue in Manhattan. We also have an agency office in San Francisco, operating since December 1977.